Homemade Organic Vegetable Stock

 Whoa whoa whoa! Hold on a minute…don’t throw away those good veggie scraps!

Not when you can make your own homemade organic veggie stock!  I just throw all my scraps I get each week from the farmers market into a container and freeze until ready to use.

As you can see, you can create some fantastic looking sculpture as well. LoL!!

 I get a flavorful stock with a variety of earthy notes each time, depending on what I buy from the local farmer’s market that weekend.

Don’t throw any of it out, because as you can see here, with the diverse amount of veggie scraps I collect I achieve a nice complexity of flavors.

I use the biggest stock pot I have with this bunch, and fill with fresh water just to cover the top of the veggies,  and I add 1 Tablespoon of sea salt, then simmer for 3-4 hours.

Until I get this rich full-bodied stock!

Plus this!!

Now I can freeze some and use some now in all the yummy recipes I whip up for the next couple of weeks!

Yum food!! Yum art!!

© [Jeanette Shihadeh] and [thepainterspalate.wordpress.com], [2012]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material, artwork, or photo’s without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Jeanette Shihadeh] and [thepainterspalate.wordpress.com] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One response

Leave a Reply

